The Sidney Hook Memorial Award

The Sidney Hook Memorial Award recognizes national distinction by a single scholar in each of three endeavors — scholarship, undergraduate teaching, and leadership in the cause of liberal arts education.

The award was established in 1991 in memory of the distinguished American philosopher and Phi Beta Kappa member, Sidney Hook (1902-1989). Funding for the award was made possible by a grant from the John Dewey Foundation. Award recipients are honored at the Society's Triennial Council Meeting. 

Nomination Process

For full consideration, please include:

  • A letter detailing your recommendation of the candidate for this award
  • A copy of the nominee's curriculum vitae 
  • Your contact information as the nominator 
Nominations for this award are accepted every three years. There will be a call for nominations a year and a half prior to each Triennial Council in the Key Reporter, the General Newsletter and social media.

 Past Award Recipients

Staff Contact

Please email Jen Horneman at with any inquiries or call (202) 745-3287


For basic information on all of the National Phi Beta Kappa Awards, download this information sheet.