For immediate release April 22, 2015

Alvin Goldman and Jennifer Lackey Awarded 2015 Lebowitz Prizes

WASHINGTON, DC – The Phi Beta Kappa Society has announced that Alvin Goldman and Jennifer Lackey are the 2015 recipients of the Martin R. Lebowitz and Eve Lewellis Lebowitz Prizes for Philosophical Achievement for their topic titled “Social Epistemology.” 

The Lebowitz Prizes, offered by Phi Beta Kappa in conjunction with the American Philosophical Association, offer significant, tangible recognition for excellence in philosophical thought. Each award recipient will receive an honorarium of $29,000.

Both of the honorees are celebrated philosophers and published authors.  Goldman, Board of Governors Professor of Philosophy and Cognitive Science at Rutgers University, focuses on the social dimensions of individual cognition, while Lackey, Professor of Philosophy at Northwestern University, focuses on the epistemic properties of collective entities.

As part of the award, Goldman and Lackey will present their collaborative viewpoints on social epistemology at two symposia.  The first will take place at the Eastern Divisional Meeting of the American Philosophical Association, January 6-9, 2016 in Washington, D.C.  The second, hosted by the Phi Beta Kappa Society, will be open to the public.

The Lebowitz Prizes are made possible by a generous bequest from Eve Lewellis Lebowitz, honoring her late husband, Martin R. Lebowitz.

For more information about the 2016 application process, visit  email


About the American Philosophical Association

The American Philosophical Association was founded in 1900 to promote the exchange of ideas among philosophers, to encourage creative and scholarly activity in philosophy, to facilitate the professional work and teaching of philosophers, and to represent philosophy as a discipline. Having grown from a few hundred members to over 10,000, the American Philosophical Association is one of the largest philosophical societies in the world and the only American philosophical society not devoted to a particular school or philosophical approach. For more information, visit

About The Phi Beta Kappa Society

Founded on Dec. 5, 1776, The Phi Beta Kappa Society is the nation's most prestigious academic honor society. It has chapters at 286 colleges and universities in the United States, almost 50 alumni associations, and more than half a million members worldwide. Noteworthy members include 17 U.S. Presidents, 39 U.S. Supreme Court Justices and more than 130 Nobel Laureates. The mission of The Phi Beta Kappa Society is to champion education in the liberal arts and sciences, foster freedom of thought, and recognize academic excellence. For more information, visit