For immediate release April 04, 2019

Loyola Marymount University


The Phi Beta Kappa Society Installs 288th Chapter at Loyola Marymount University

WASHINGTON, DC — The Phi Beta Kappa Society has installed a new chapter at Loyola Marymount University. Following the installation ceremony at the Charles Von der Ahe building on the Westchester campus, the new Omega of California chapter inducted nine students, each selected for their outstanding academic achievement in the arts and sciences. 

Frederick M. Lawrence, Phi Beta Kappa secretary/CEO, Lynn Pasquerella, Phi Beta Kappa Society president and president of the Association of American Colleges and Universities, and Nicolas Rosenthal, associate professor of history and president of the new chapter, presided over the installation and induction. Following the ceremonies, LMU leaders, including President Timothy Law Snyder, Phi Beta Kappa faculty and staff, and the chapter’s newly inducted students enjoyed a reception at the William H. Hannon Library to celebrate the chapter’s installation.

Lawrence acknowledged the significance of the university’s achievement, saying: “It is a great pleasure to recognize the long-standing dedication to the liberal arts at Loyola Marymount University and the strong foundation you are providing for your students. We know that Phi Beta Kappa will thrive here and look forward to celebrating your students’ successes for many years to come.”

Prospective Phi Beta Kappa inductees are usually seniors among the top 10 percent of their graduating class who have excelled in a wide range of liberal arts and sciences coursework, including foreign language study and mathematics.

In addition to the students, the Omega of California chapter also inducted eight Foundation members, chosen for their commitment to the arts and sciences, including President Snyder. The Foundation members include:  

  • Fr. Gregory Boyle, S.J., Founder and Executive Director, Homeboy Industries
  • Robbin D. Crabtree, Dean, Bellarmine College of Liberal Arts, Loyola Marymount University
  • Fr. Michael Engh, S.J., President, Santa Clara University
  • Sr. Mary Beth Ingham, CSJ, Professor Emerita, Loyola Marymount University 
  • Thomas Poon, Executive Vice President and Provost, Loyola Marymount University
  • David Sapp, Vice Provost for Academic Affairs, Loyola Marymount University
  • Timothy Law Snyder, President, Loyola Marymount University
  • Elizabeth Wimberly, Associate Director for the Center for Undergraduate Research & Creative Experience, Loyola Marymount University. 

"The establishment of a Phi Beta Kappa chapter signals LMU’s deep commitment to the values of a broad-based education focused on the arts and sciences,” said Nicolas Rosenthal, president of the new chapter at Loyola Marymount University. “Furthermore, it rewards our students who obtain academic excellence and embrace the values of a liberal arts education with a mark of the highest distinction, along with lifelong membership in a community that encourages free thought, vibrant engagement, and a love for learning.”

Loyola Marymount University becomes the 288th U.S. college or university to shelter a Phi Beta Kappa chapter. Installations of new chapters occur only every three years and follow an intensive, multi-year application and evaluation process that includes two rounds of data collection and a visit from members of the Phi Beta Kappa Committee on Qualifications. Among the criteria reviewed are the university’s educational rigor in the arts and sciences, governance structure, faculty excellence, demonstrated commitment to academic freedom, and institutional dedication to liberal education.

Phi Beta Kappa installed a chapter at Mississippi State University, Starkville, MS, on April 2, and will install two other chapters at Chapman University, Orange, CA, and University of South Florida, Tampa, FL, later this month.

New members at Loyola Marymount University

About Loyola Marymount University

Loyola Marymount University is ranked in the top 15 percent of higher education institutions nationally by The Wall Street Journal. Founded in 1911, LMU is a Catholic, Jesuit and Marymount university with more than 6,500 undergraduate students and more than 3,000 graduate and law students. LMU offers 61 undergraduate majors and 55 minor programs, along with 49 master’s degree programs, three doctorate programs and 13 credential/authorization programs. LMU’s intercollegiate athletics teams compete in the West Coast Conference with 22 Division I and varsity sports.

About The Phi Beta Kappa Society

Founded on Dec. 5, 1776, The Phi Beta Kappa Society is the nation's most prestigious academic honor society. It has chapters at 287 colleges and universities in the United States, 50 alumni associations, and more than half a million members worldwide. Noteworthy members include 17 U.S. Presidents, 41 U.S. Supreme Court Justices and more than 140 Nobel Laureates. The mission of The Phi Beta Kappa Society is to champion education in the liberal arts and sciences, foster freedom of thought, and recognize academic excellence. For more information, visit