For immediate release February 19, 2020

2020-2021 Phi Beta Kappa Visiting Scholars Announced


The Phi Beta Kappa Society is pleased to announce the appointment of 16 Visiting Scholars for 2020-2021.

Since 1956, the Society’s Visiting Scholar Program has been offering undergraduates the opportunity to spend time with some of America’s most distinguished scholars. The purpose of the program is to contribute to the intellectual life of the institution by making possible an exchange of ideas between the Visiting Scholars and the resident faculty and students.
Each year, members of the Committee on the Visiting Scholar Program select top scholars in the liberal arts and sciences to travel to universities and colleges where Phi Beta Kappa chapters are located. Visiting Scholars spend two days on each campus meeting informally with undergraduates, participating in classroom lectures and seminars, and giving one major lecture open to the academic community and general public.
The 2020-2021 Visiting Scholars will make over 100 visits during the academic year, with the majority of them participating in our podcast Key Conversations with Phi Beta Kappa


2020-2021 Visiting Scholars:

Joseph E. Aldy, Professor of the Practice of Public Policy, Harvard University
Corey Brettschneider, Professor of Political Science, Brown University
Elizabeth Cullen Dunn, Professor of Geography, Indiana University Bloomington
Karen Fleming, Professor of Biophysics, Johns Hopkins University
Martin Gruebele, James R. Eiszner Endowed Chair in Chemistry, University of Illinois
Roger Guenveur Smith, Actor, Writer, and Director
Yolanda Martínez-San Miguel, Marta S. Weeks Chair in Latin American Studies, University of Miami
Douglas S. Massey, Henry G. Bryant Professor of Sociology and Public Affairs, Princeton University 
Tracey L. Meares, Walton Hale Hamilton Professor, Yale Law School
Peter Meineck, Professor of Classics in the Modern World, New York University
Ken Ono, Thomas Jefferson Professor of Mathematics, University of Virginia
Richard Prum, William Robertson Coe Professor of Ornithology, Yale University
Evie Shockley, Professor of English, Rutgers University
Joan Waugh, Professor of History, UCLA
Janet Westpheling, Professor of Genetics, University of Georgia
Susan R. Wolf, Edna J. Koury Distinguished Professor of Philosophy, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Learn More

About The Phi Beta Kappa Society

Founded on Dec. 5, 1776, The Phi Beta Kappa Society is the nation's most prestigious academic honor society. It has chapters at 290 colleges and universities in the United States, 50 alumni associations, and more than half a million members worldwide. Noteworthy members include 17 U.S. Presidents, 41 U.S. Supreme Court Justices and more than 140 Nobel Laureates. The mission of The Phi Beta Kappa Society is to champion education in the liberal arts and sciences, foster freedom of thought, and recognize academic excellence. For more information, visit