The 2014 Christian Gauss Award Winner

The winner of the 2014 Christian Gauss Award is The Novel: An Alternative History, 1600-1800 by Steven Moore, published by Bloomsbury Academic




  • 2013    Claudia L. Johnson, Jane Austen's Cults and Cultures, published by The University of Chicago Press

  • 2012    Christopher B. Krebs, A Most Dangerous Book: Tacitus's Germania from the Roman Empire to the Third Reich,
                published by W.W. Norton.

  • 2011    Randall Fuller, From Battlefields Rising: How the Civil War Transformed American Literature, published by Oxford University Press.

  • 2010    V.A. Kolve, Telling Images: Chaucer and the Imagery of Narrative II (Stanford University Press)

  • 2009    Christopher Benfey, A Summer of Hummingbirds: Love, Art, and Scandal in the Intersecting Worlds of
                Emily Dickinson, Mark Twain, Harriet Beecher Stowe, & Martin Johnson Heade (The Penguin Press)

  • 2008    Peter Brooks, Henry James Goes to Paris (Princeton University Press)

  • 2007    George Hutchinson, In Search of Nella Larsen: A Biography of the Color Line
                 (Bellknap Press of the Harvard University Press) 

  • 2006     Virginia Jackson, Dickinson's Misery: A Theory of Lyric Reading (Princeton
                  University Press)

  • 2005     Marjorie Garber, Shakespeare After All (Pantheon Books)

  • 2004     Lawrence Buell, Emerson (Harvard University Press)

  • 2003     R.F. Foster, The Irish Story: Telling Tales and Making It Up in Ireland (Oxford
                  University Press)

  • 2002     Susan Stewart, Poetry and the Fate of the Senses (The University of Chicago Press)

  • 2001     Michael West, Transcendental Wordplay: America's Romantic Punsters & the 
                  Search for the Language of Nature (Ohio University Press)


Love of learning is the guide of life.