February 15, 2018
Contact: Hadley White
Phone: 202-745-3231

The Phi Beta Kappa Society Selects 15 Visiting Scholars for 2018-2019


(Washington, D.C.) – The Phi Beta Kappa Society is pleased to announce the appointment of 15 Visiting Scholars for 2018-2019.

 Since 1956, the Society’s Visiting Scholar Program has been offering undergraduates the opportunity to spend time with some of America’s most distinguished scholars. The purpose of the program is to contribute to the intellectual life of the institution by making possible an exchange of ideas between the Visiting Scholars and the resident faculty and students.

Each year, members of the Committee on the Visiting Scholar Program select top scholars in the liberal arts and sciences to travel to universities and colleges where Phi Beta Kappa chapters are located. Visiting Scholars spend two days on each campus meeting informally with undergraduates, participating in classroom lectures and seminars, and giving one major address open to the entire academic community and the general public.

The 2018-2019 Visiting Scholars will make over 100 visits during the academic year.

Lisa Anderson, Senior Lecturer, Columbia University School of International and Public Affairs

Alán Aspuru-Guzik, Professor of Chemistry and Chemical Biology, Harvard University

Susan J. Birren, Professor of Neurobiology, Brandeis University

Laura Brown, John Wendell Anderson Professor of English, Cornell University

Jamsheed Choksy, Distinguished Professor of Central Eurasian Studies, Indiana University

Nicola M. Courtright, William McCall Vickery 1957 Professor of the History of Art, Amherst College

William Chester Jordan, Dayton-Stockton Professor of History, Princeton University

Harold Hongju Koh, Sterling Professor of International Law, Yale Law School

Edward J. Larson, University Professor of History, Hugh and Hazel Darling Chair in Law, Pepperdine University

Tod Machover, Muriel R. Cooper Professor of Music and Media, MIT

Dava J. Newman, Apollo Professor of Astronautics and Engineering Systems, MIT

Dan Simon, Richard L. and Maria B. Crutcher Professor of Law and Psychology, USC Gould School of Law

Alfred Z. Spector, Chief Technology Officer, Two Sigma

Paula Stephan, Professor of Economics, Georgia State University

Natasha Trethewey, Board of Trustees Professor of English, Northwestern University 2018-2019 ɸßК-Frank M. Updike Memorial Scholar


About The Phi Beta Kappa Society
Founded on Dec. 5, 1776, The Phi Beta Kappa Society is the nation’s most prestigious academic honor society. It has chapters at 286 colleges and universities in the United States, almost 50 alumni associations, and more than half a million members worldwide. Noteworthy members include 17 U.S. Presidents, 39 U.S. Supreme Court Justices and more than 130 Nobel Laureates. The mission of The Phi Beta Kappa Society is to champion education in the liberal arts and sciences, foster freedom of thought, and recognize academic excellence. For more information, visit

Love of learning is the guide of life.