Awards and Fellowships

The Phi Beta Kappa Society presents eight awards and fellowships annually. These awards recognize exceptional authors, scholars, graduate students, and professors in the fields of the humanities, social sciences, natural sciences, mathematics, philosophy, French language or literature, and Greek language, literature or history. Phi Beta Kappa also gives two major awards at the Triennial Council for lifetime achievement in support of the liberal arts and sciences, and an award for extraordinary service to Phi Beta Kappa as national organization.

Annual Awards

Walter J. Jensen Fellowship in French Studies: The Walter J. Jensen Fellowship is awarded for at least six continuous months of study in France. The purpose of the award is to help educators and researchers improve education in standard French language, literature and culture and in the study of standard French in the United States. The fellowship, awarded annually, carries a stipend originally set in 1995 at $10,000, to be adjusted for inflation. The stipend for 2015 was $15,500. Phi Beta Kappa will also cover a single round-trip, economy-class ticket for the recipient to travel to France.

Mary Isabel Sibley Fellowship: The annual Mary Isabel Sibley Fellowship is awarded alternately in the fields of Greek and French. The award may be used for the study of Greek language, literature, history, or archaeology, or the study of French language or literature. For 2016, the Sibley Fellowship is for the study of French language or literature. The Fellowship awards a stipend of $20,000.

Romanell Professorship: The Romanell-Phi Beta Kappa Professorship is awarded annually to scholars in the field of philosophy, without restriction to any one school of philosophical thought. The professorship is intended to recognize not only distinguished achievement but also the recipient’s contribution or potential contribution to public understanding of philosophy. The professorship carries with it a stipend of $7,500.

Lebowitz Prizes: The Dr. Martin R. Lebowitz and Eve Lewellis Lebowitz Prizes for Philosophical Achievement are awarded by in conjunction with the American Philosophical Association. The associated Lebowitz Symposium is to be presented annually at a Divisional meeting of the American Philosophical Association. The dialogic character of the Lebowitz Symposium, created by the gift, emphasizes the historic work of philosophy as a process of inquiry.  Each recipient receives a $29,000 prize.

Book Awards: The Phi Beta Kappa Book Awards are given each year in December to outstanding scholarly books published in the United States.  Winning works, which are drawn from the fields of the humanities, the social sciences, the natural sciences and mathematics, must be of broad interest and accessible to the general, literate reader. Each of the three awards carries a $10,000 prize.  

Triennial Awards

Distinguished Service to the Humanities Award: The Award for Distinguished Service to the Humanities is given to recognize individuals who have made significant contributions in the field of the humanities. 

Sidney Hook Memorial Award: This award recognizes national distinction by a single scholar in each of three endeavors — scholarship, undergraduate teaching and leadership in the cause of liberal arts education.

Judith Krug Medal: The Judith F. Krug Medal is presented to the recipient of the Phi Beta Kappa President’s Award.  This award, created in 2009 by the Phi Beta Kappa Senate, is intended to be given only from time to time in recognition of truly outstanding and extraordinary service to Phi Beta Kappa as a national organization.  The Judith F. Krug medal is bestowed by the president of the Phi Beta Kappa Senate upon approval of the Senate Executive Committee.
Love of learning is the guide of life.