Romanell-Phi Beta Kappa Professorship

The Romanell-Phi Beta Kappa Professorship is awarded annually to scholars in the field of philosophy, without restriction to any one school of philosophical thought. The professorship is intended to recognize not only distinguished achievement but also the recipient’s contribution or potential contribution to public understanding of philosophy. The professorship is not renewable.

The professorship carries with it a stipend of $7,500, which will be awarded in addition to the recipient’s regular salary. Although the awardee need not be a member of Phi Beta Kappa, he or she must be on the faculty of an institution sheltering a chapter of Phi Beta Kappa and must be nominated by that chapter. The recipient will be expected to give a series of three special lectures during the year of the professorship. Such lectures are to be given at the sheltering institution and must be open to the general public as well as to the academic community.

The professorship is made possible by an endowment from Patrick and Edna Romanell. Patrick Romanell, a Phi Beta Kappa member from Brooklyn College, was H.Y. Benedict Professor of Philosophy at the University of Texas, El Paso. The first award was given for the academic year 1983-1984. Romanell-Phi Beta Kappa Professorship Winners 

Phi Beta Kappa chapters are invited to submit nominations for the Romanell-Phi Beta Kappa Professorship. A chapter may submit only one nomination in a given year. Nomination forms have been sent to the chapter secretaries and should be returned to

Nomination Form

1.  Fill out and print the Romanell Nomination Form.

2.  Please follow the instructions of the nomination form, mail all materials to:

     The Committee on the Romanell-Phi Beta Kappa Professorship

     The Phi Beta Kappa Society

     1606 New Hampshire Ave., NW

      Washington, D.C. 20009

 The deadline for nominations is June 15, 2016.

Love of learning is the guide of life.