Presidents' Letter Regarding DOE's Princeton Investigation

Wesleyan University's President, Michael Roth, and Amherst College's President, Biddy Martin, have written the following statement regarding the DOE's investigation of Princeton surrounding racism and adherence to federal non-discrimination law:

Across the nation, individuals, families, communities, businesses, corporations, and educational institutions are coming to grips with the country's legacies of slavery and racial oppression, which stretch back over four hundred years. Recently, the U.S. Department of Education Office of Postsecondary Education announced that it will be investigating Princeton University for possible misrepresentations in its reports of adherence to federal non-discrimination law because its president publicly recognized that historic racism has been embedded in the institution over time.

It is outrageous that the Department of Education is using our country's resources to investigate an institution that is committed to becoming more inclusive by reckoning with the impact in the present of our shared legacies of racism.

As presidents of colleges and universities, we, too, acknowledge the ways that racism has affected and continues to affect the country's institutions, including our own. We stand together in recognizing the work we still need to do if we are ever "to perfect the union," and we urge the Department of Education to abandon its ill-considered investigation of Princeton University.

Michael Roth, President, Wesleyan University Biddy Martin, President, Amherst College

Jeff Abernathy, Alma College
Barbara K. Altmann, Franklin & Marshall College
Carmen Twillie Ambar, Oberlin College
Teresa L. Amott, Knox College
David R. Anderson, St. Olaf College
Lawrence Bacow, Harvard University
Bradley W. Bateman, Randolph College
Joanne Berger-Sweeney, Trinity College
Scott Bierman, Beloit College
Lee C. Bollinger, Columbia University
Leon Botstein, Bard College
Elizabeth H. Bradley, Vassar College
John Bravman, Bucknell University
Mark Burstein, Lawrence University

Alison Byerly, Lafayette College

Michael T. Cahill, Brooklyn Law School

Roger Casey, McDaniel College

Kimberly Cassidy, Bryn Mawr College

Shirley M. Collado, Ithaca College

Marc C. Conner, Skidmore College

Elizabeth Davis, Furman University

Sean M. Decatur, Kenyon College

Kent Devereaux, Goucher College

Harry J. Elam, Jr., Occidental College

Margee Ensign, Dickinson College

Damián J. Fernández, Eckerd College

Jacquelyn S. Fetrow, Albright College

William L. Fox, St. Lawrence University

Michael L. Frandsen, Wittenberg University

Jorge G. Gonzalez, Kalamazoo College

Jonathan D. Green, Susquehanna University

Amy Gutmann, University of Pennsylvania

Philip J. Hanlon, Dartmouth College

Kathleen Harring, Muhlenberg College

David Harris, Union College

Marjorie Hass, Rhodes College

Elizabeth Hillman, Mills College

Jonathan Holloway, Rutgers University

Joyce Jacobsen, Hobart & William Smith Colleges

Paula Johnson, Wellesley College

Rock Jones, Ohio Wesleyan University

Cristle Collins Judd, Sarah Lawrence College

Thomas Katsouleas, University of Connecticut

Water Kimbrough, Dillard University

Maria Klawe, Harvey Mudd College

John C. Knapp, Washington & Jefferson College

Frederick M. Lawrence, Phi Beta Kappa Society

Ronald D. Liebowitz, Brandeis University

Hilary L. Link, Allegheny College

Maud S. Mandel, Williams College

Biddy Martin, Amherst College

Michael C. Maxey, Roanoke College

Kathleen McCartney, Smith College

Patricia A. McGuire, Trinity Washington University

Anthony Monaco, Tufts University

Kathleen Murray, Whitman College

S. Georgia Nugent, Illinois Wesleyan University

Melvin L. Oliver, Pitzer College

Lynn Pasquerella, Association of American Colleges & Universities

Laurie L. Patton, Middlebury College

Christina Paxson, Brown University

Martha E. Pollack, Cornell University

Vincent Price, Duke University

Wendy Raymond, Haverford College

Ravi S. Rajan, California Institute of the Arts (CalArts)

L. Rafael Reif, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Suzanne Rivera, Macalester College

Clayton Rose, Bowdoin College

Michael S. Roth, Wesleyan University

Peter Salovey, Yale University

Ruth J. Simmons, Prairie View A&M University

Valerie Smith, Swarthmore College

Clayton Spencer, Bates College

G. Gabrielle Starr, Pomona College

Sonya Stephens, Mount Holyoke College

Tania Tetlow, Loyola University New Orleans

Lara Tiedens, Scripps College

Stephen E. Thorsett, Willamette University

Laura Trombley, Southwestern University

Laura R. Walker, Bennington College

Jianping Wang, Mercer County Community College

Wim Wiewel, Lewis & Clark College

Edward Wingenbach, Hampshire College

David Wippman, Hamilton College

(Source)