The Lebowitz Prize for Philosophical Achievement and Contribution

2018 Lebowitz Symposium at MIT

About the Award

The Dr. Martin R. Lebowitz and Eve Lewellis Lebowitz Prize for Philosophical Achievement and Contribution is awarded by the Phi Beta Kappa Society in conjunction with the American Philosophical Association (APA). The associated Lebowitz Symposium is presented annually at a divisional meeting of the American Philosophical Association. The prize was established in 2013 by Eve Lewellis Lebowitz in honor of her late husband, Martin R. Lebowitz, to provide a significant, tangible recognition for excellence in philosophical thought. 

Prize Details

  • The Symposium programs must consist of a lecture to be delivered at an annual meeting of one of the divisions of the APA, as well as a public facing program sponsored by the Society.

  • The topic of the lectures should be an important philosophical issue of current interest, be of a general interest outside of the field of philosophy, and should offer contrasting (not necessarily opposing) views on that topic. 

  • Honoraria for the symposiasts are funded at an adjusted rate based on the current size of the endowment. Recent winners have been awarded approximately $25,000 for each honoree.

  • The winning submission will have the opportunity to be published in the Journal of the American Philosophical Association. Publication will be arranged by mutual agreement of the winners and the journal's editorial board.

  • APA members are eligible to nominate or self-nominate.  Winners will be selected by a committee appointed jointly by The Phi Beta Kappa Society and the American Philosophical Association, and ratified by the Phi Beta Kappa Senate.

Nomination Process

All application materials should be sent electronically to Jen Horneman. A complete nomination will consist of the following: 

  • This nomination form
  • Two 300 word abstracts: one for each speaker, which details the proposed topic and the approach that will be taken in the symposium. 
  • A complete CV for both proposed speakers. 
  • Two letters of recommendation. Ideally, the reference will have knowledge of both proposed speakers.  Letters should address the stature of the candidates and the relevance of the selected topic.  

Previous Recipients 

2018 Kit Fine and Stephen Yablo: "What is Meaning?"
2017  Nancy Cartwright and Elliott SoberIs There Such a Thing as The Scientific Method? 
2016  Ernest Sosa and Stephen StichIntuition
2015  Alvin Goldman and Jennifer LackeySocial Epistemology
2014  Jonathan Schaffer and Jessica Wilson: Grounding in Metaphysics
2013  Anita Silvers and Eva Kittay: Expanding Justice, Including Disability

image description

Nominations for the Lebowitz Prize:
Re-opens Fall 2019

Stephen Yablo & Kit Fine

Stephen Yablo & Kit Fine

2018 Lebowitz Winners

Staff Contact

Please email Jen Horneman at with any inquiries or call (202) 745-3287


For basic information on all of the National Phi Beta Kappa Awards, download this information sheet.