The Mary Isabel Sibley Fellowship


About the Fellowship

2025  French Studies
2026  Greek Studies

Established in 1934 by Isabelle Stone (ΦΒΚ, Wellesley College) in honor of her mother, Mary Isabel Sibley, this fellowship was designed to reward women pursuing graduate work in one of two fields of study, French or Greek, with the experience of researching and living abroad. Elected to Phi Beta Kappa in 1905, Dr. Stone received her Ph.D. in 1908 from Cornell University and was then awarded the Alice Freeman Palmer Fellowship and spent the next year in Europe, principally in Greece, where she continued her study of Greek history and language.
Through the Mary Isabel Sibley Fellowship, Dr. Stone intended to pass on the opportunity for pleasure, wisdom and scholarship that she found during her time in Greece to future generations.

Fellowship Details

The Mary Isabel Sibley Fellowship is awarded annually, alternating in the fields of Greek and French. The award may be used for the study of Greek culture (e.g. language, literature, history, archaeology), or the study of French language or literature. It carries a stipend of $20,000 and is not restricted to members of Phi Beta Kappa or to U.S. citizens. The stipend is typically paid in two installments, the first on July 1 of the award year, and the second on January 1 of the following year.

Eligibility Requirements 

The fellowship is intended, according to the donor’s wishes, for women in the early stages of their research careers who:
  • Demonstrate ability to carry on original research;
  • Hold a doctorate/have fulfilled all requirements for doctorate except the dissertation (ABD); and
  • Plan to devote full-time work to research during the fellowship year. Under appropriate circumstances, if approved by Phi Beta Kappa, candidates may hold other positions concurrently with the Sibley Fellowship.
Periodic progress reports from the Fellow are expected, with the hope that the results of the year of research will be published in some form.


Application Process

Before applying, interested candidates should thoroughly read these eligibility requirements.

Applications for 2025 (French Studies) will open in September 2024. 

Applications must include:
  • A work proposal in both English and French
  • Transcripts from all institutions (Transcripts do not need to come directly from the institution.)
  • Three letters of recommendation
icon - key

Applications for the Sibley Fellowship


2024 Mary Isabel Sibley Winner

Ella Kirsh, PhD candidate at Brown University, has won the 2024 Sibley Fellowship, which recognizes exceptional young scholars in the field of French or Greek language, literature, and culture. Kirsh will use the Fellowship for her project The Memory-writers: a social and intellectual history of shorthand in Late Antiquity.

Past Sibley Recipients

Staff Contact

Please email with any inquiries or call (202) 265-3808