The Sidney Hook Memorial Award


The Sidney Hook Memorial Award recognizes national distinction by a single scholar in each of three endeavors — scholarship, undergraduate teaching, and leadership in the cause of liberal arts education.

The award was established in 1991 in memory of the distinguished American philosopher and Phi Beta Kappa member, Sidney Hook (1902-1989). Funding for the award was made possible by a grant from the John Dewey Foundation. Award recipients are honored at the Society's Triennial Council Meeting.

Nomination Process

For full consideration, please include:

  • A letter detailing your recommendation of the candidate for this award
  • A copy of the nominee's curriculum vitae 
  • Your contact information as the nominator 

Nominations for this award are accepted every three years. There will be a call for nominations a year and a half prior to each Triennial Council in the Key Reporter, the General Newsletter and social media.

Nomination Form Past Award Recipients

2021 Sidney Hook Recipient

Viet Thanh Nguyen

Staff Contact

Please email with any inquiries or call (202) 265-3808