For immediate release August 5, 2021

The Phi Beta Kappa Society Elects New Senators at 46th Triennial Council

WASHINGTON, DC, August 5, 2021 — At the Phi Beta Kappa Society’s 46th Triennial Council, delegates have elected twelve Senators to the Society’s Senate. 

Senators serve as a board of directors who guide the Society on policy matters that are carried out by the national office of Phi Beta Kappa and set the direction for the Society’s future. The term of office is six years. Seven are new to the Phi Beta Kappa Senate. Five are returning to the Senate for a second term.

The Society welcomes seven new Senators from a wide variety of institutions and fields. They are:  

  • Ronald Crutcher, President and Professor of Music, University of Richmond
  • Dolores Duran-Cerda, Provost and Executive Vice Chancellor, Pima Community College
  • Sean Decatur, President, Kenyon College
  • Bridget Keegan, Dean of College of Arts and Sciences, Creighton University
  • Michael Lomax, President and CEO, United Negro College Fund
  • Janet Bauder Thornburg, Retired Geologist
  • Anne Wallen, Program Director, Office of Fellowships, University of Kansas

The Society welcomes back five Senators, elected for a second term:

  • Susan Carlisle, Partner Emerita, Aprio LLP.
  • Vera Junkers, Retired Teacher
  • Amy Mulnix, Director, Faculty Center, Franklin and Marshall College
  • Eric Nye, Emeritus Professor, Department of English, University of Wyoming
  • Suzie Park, Assistant Dean of the Honors College, Professor, Eastern Illinois University

“Phi Beta Kappa is fortunate to have such dedicated people who are willing to volunteer their time to serve as Senators,” said Frederick M. Lawrence, Secretary and CEO of the Society. “They bring a variety of perspectives for advancing the values of liberal arts and sciences education and fostering free expression. Their skills and expertise will enhance those of our current Senators, and I look forward to working with them.” 


About The Phi Beta Kappa Society

Founded on Dec. 5, 1776, The Phi Beta Kappa Society is the nation's most prestigious academic honor society. It has chapters at 290 colleges and universities in the United States, nearly 50 alumni associations, and more than half a million members worldwide. Noteworthy members include 17 U.S. Presidents, 42 U.S. Supreme Court Justices and more than 150 Nobel Laureates. The mission of The Phi Beta Kappa Society is to champion education in the liberal arts and sciences, foster freedom of thought, and recognize academic excellence. For more information, visit