Phi Beta Kappa Members in Public Service

Phi Beta Kappa members are part of a diverse network of public servants committed to improving their communities. Why? The arts and sciences are an essential ingredient to a vibrant culture and democracy that benefits all Americans.

Are you interested in policy or leadership development?

Lonnie Bunch

14th Secretary of the Smithsonian


American University

Ralph Bunche

Nobel Peace Prize Winner; Former UN Under-Secretary-General for Special Political Affairs


University of California, Los Angeles

Ben Bernanke

14th Chairman of the Federal Reserve 2006-2014


Harvard College

Ashton Carter

U.S. Secretary of Defense, 2015-2017


Yale University

Margaret D. Craighill

Former Women's Consultant to the Surgeon General of the U.S. Army


University of Wisconsin - Madison

Antonio Delgado

Lieutenant Governor of New York, 2002-


Colgate University

Elizabeth Dole

20th U.S. Secretary of Labor; 8th U.S. Secretary of Transportation


Duke University

Barnaby Keeney

First Chair of the National Endowment for the Humanities, 1966-1970


University of North Carolina - Chapel Hill

Juanita Kreps

24th U.S. Secretary of Commerce


Duke University

Clarence Lam

Maryland State Senator (12th District) and Physician


Case Western Reserve University

Alondra Nelson

Director of the Office of Science and Technology Policy


University of California, San Diego

Theodore Olson

42nd Solicitor General of the United States


University of the Pacific

Frances Perkins

4th U.S. Secretary of Labor, 1933-1945


Mount Holyoke College

Patricia Robert Harris

6th U.S. Secretary of Housing and Urban Development, 1979-1981


Howard University

Jocelyn Samuels

Vice Chair of the Equal Employment Opportunity Commission 2021 -


Middlebury College

David Satcher

U.S. Surgeon General, 1998-2002


Morehouse College

Maya Shankar

Senior Advisor at the White House Office of Science and Technology Policy, 2013-2017


Yale University

Sadie Tanner Mossell Alexander

Chair of the White House Conference on Aging, 1978-1981


University of Pennsylvania

Matthew Tejada

U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, Director of the Office of Environmental Justice


University of Texas at Austin

Damian Williams

U.S. Attorney for the Southern District of New York


Harvard College

Pearl Young

First Female Employee at the National Advisory Committee for Aeronautics (NACA - which is now NASA), 1933-1961


University of North Dakota