Triennial Awards Recipients


The Award for Distinguished Service to the Humanities


Annette Gordon-Reed, Carl M. Loeb University Professor at Harvard University
Lonnie Bunch III, Secretary of the Smithsonian Institution 
2015 David McCullough, Pulitzer Prize winning author
2012 Patricia Meyer Spacks, author and President Emeritus of the AAC&U
2009 Douglas Greenberg, Dean of the School of Arts and Sciences at Rutgers University  
2006 Gerald Early, Merle Kling Professor of Letters and Director of the Center for Humanities, Washington University in St. Louis
2003 Robert Pinsky, Professor of English and Creative Writing, Boston University and former Poet Laureate of the United States
2000 Richard Franke, Founder of the Chicago Humanities Festival and CEO Emeritus of The John Nuveen Company
1997 Joseph Epstein, Renowned Essayist and former Editor of The American Scholar
1990 John E. Sawyer, President Emeritus of Williams College and the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation
1988 Daniel J. Boorstin, retired Librarian of Congress
1985 Robert M. Lumiansky, President Emeritus of the American Council of Learned Societies and The Phi Beta Kappa Society
1982 Dumas Malone, the distinguished Jefferson scholar and Jefferson Foundation Professor of History at the University of Virginia
1979 Charles Frankel (awarded posthumously), teacher, philosopher and President Emeritus of The National Humanities Center
1976 Louis B. Wright, Director Emeritus of the Folger Shakespeare Library
1973 Howard Mumford Jones, Abbott Lawrence Lowell Professor for the Humanities at Harvard University
1970 Barnaby C. Keeney, former Chairman of the National Endowment for the Humanities and President Emeritus of Brown University

Read more about the Distinguished Services to the Humanities Award.


The Sidney Hook Memorial Award



Viet Thanh Nguyen, Aerol Arnold Chair of English and Professor of English and American Studies and Ethnicity at the University of Southern California
Nancy Weiss Malkiel, professor of history emerita at Princeton University
2015 Jill Lepore, Author and David Woods Kemper '41 Professor of American History at Harvard University
2012 Martha Craven Nussbaum, Ernst Freund Distinguished Professor of Law and Ethics at the University of Chicago
2009 John Seery, George Irving Thompson Memorial Professor of Government and Professor of Politics at Pomona College
2006 Charles Tilly, Joseph Buttenwieser Professor of Social Science at Columbia University
2003 Jonathan Spence, Sterling Professor of History at Yale University
2000 Natalie Zemon Davis, professor of history emerita at Princeton University
1997 Carolyn G. Heilbrun, professor of English literature emerita at Columbia University
1994 John Hope Franklin, James B. Duke Professor of History emeritus and professor of legal history in the Law School at Duke University
1991 Leon Lederman, former president of the AAAS and Frank L. Sulzberger Professor of Physics at the University of Chicago

Read more about the Sidney Hook Memorial Award.