For immediate release February 14, 2024

2024-2025 Phi Beta Kappa Visiting Scholars Announced

The Phi Beta Kappa Society is pleased to announce the appointment of 14 Visiting Scholars for 2024-2025.

Since 1956, the Phi Beta Kappa Society’s Visiting Scholar Program has offered undergraduates the opportunity to spend time with some of America’s most distinguished scholars. The purpose of the program is to contribute to the intellectual life of the institution by making possible an exchange of ideas between the Visiting Scholars and the resident faculty and students.
Each year, members of the Committee on the Visiting Scholar Program select top scholars in the liberal arts and sciences to visit universities and colleges where Phi Beta Kappa chapters are located. Visiting Scholars spend two days on each campus meeting informally with undergraduates, participating in classroom lectures and seminars, and giving one major lecture open to the academic community and general public.
The 2024-2025 Visiting Scholars will make over 100 visits during the academic year, with the majority of them participating in our podcast Key Conversations with Phi Beta Kappa.


2024-2025 Visiting Scholars:

  • Reginald Dwayne Betts, Author, Poet, Lawyer, and Criminal Justice Reform Advocate 
  • Geraldo Cadava, Professor of History and Latina and Latino Studies, Northwestern University  
  • Douglas E. Christie, Professor Emeritus in the Theological Studies Department, Loyola Marymount University
  • Ingrid Daubechies, James B. Duke Professor Emerita of Mathematics and Electrical and Computer Engineering, Duke University 
  • Douglas Emlen, Montana Regents Professor of Biology, University of Montana 
  • Daniel Hungerman, Professor of Economics, University of Notre Dame 
  • Martin Kern, Joanna and Greg '84 P13 P18 Zeluck Professor in Asian Studies, Princeton University 
  • Tammy L. Kernodle, University Distinguished Professor of Music, Miami University 
  • Kelly Lambert, Trawick Professor of Behavioral Neuroscience, University of Richmond 
  • Kendra McSweeney, Professor of Geography, Ohio State University 
  • Kathleen D. Morrison, Sally and Alvin V. Shoemaker Professor of Anthropology, University of Pennsylvania 
  • Ryosuke Motani, Professor of Paleobiology, University of California, Davis 
  • Kristina Richardson, John L. Nau III Professor of the History and Principles of Democracy & Professor of History and Middle Eastern & South Asian Languages and Cultures, University of Virginia 
  • Corey Robin, Distinguished Professor of Political Science, Brooklyn College and the CUNY Graduate Center
Learn More

About The Phi Beta Kappa Society

Founded on Dec. 5, 1776, The Phi Beta Kappa Society is the nation's most prestigious academic honor society. It has chapters at over 290 colleges and universities in the United States, nearly 50 alumni associations, and more than half a million members worldwide. Noteworthy members include 17 U.S. Presidents, 42 U.S. Supreme Court Justices and more than 150 Nobel Laureates. The mission of The Phi Beta Kappa Society is to champion education in the liberal arts and sciences, foster freedom of thought, and recognize academic excellence. For more information, visit