For immediate release February 16, 2022

2022-2023 Phi Beta Kappa Visiting Scholars Announced

The Phi Beta Kappa Society is pleased to announce the appointment of 13 Visiting Scholars for 2022-2023.

Since 1956, the Phi Beta Kappa Society’s Visiting Scholar Program has offered undergraduates the opportunity to spend time with some of America’s most distinguished scholars. The purpose of the program is to contribute to the intellectual life of the institution by making possible an exchange of ideas between the Visiting Scholars and the resident faculty and students.

Each year, members of the Committee on the Visiting Scholar Program select top scholars in the liberal arts and sciences to visit, either in person or virtually, universities and colleges where Phi Beta Kappa chapters are located. Visiting Scholars spend two days on each campus meeting informally with undergraduates, participating in classroom lectures and seminars, and giving one major lecture open to the academic community and general public.

The 2022-2023 Phi Beta Kappa Visiting Scholars will make over 100 visits during the academic year, with the majority of them participating in our podcast Key Conversations with Phi Beta Kappa.

2022-2023 Phi Beta Kappa Visiting Scholars:

  • P. Gabrielle Foreman, Paterno Chair of Liberal Arts, Professor of English, African American Studies, and History, Penn State University 
  • Joseph S. Francisco, President's Distinguished Professor of Earth and Environmental Science and Professor of Chemistry, University of Pennsylvania 
  • Mark D. Hayward, Professor of Sociology and Centennial Commission Professor in the Liberal Arts, University of Texas at Austin 
  • Kay Holekamp, University Distinguished Professor in the Department of Integrative Biology, Michigan State University 
  • Maya Jasanoff, X.D. and Nancy Yang Professor and Coolidge Professor of History, Harvard University
  • Kathryn Lofton, Lex Hixon Professor of Religious Studies and American Studies, Professor of History and Divinity, Yale University 
  • William G. Moseley, DeWitt Wallace Professor of Geography and Director of the Food, Agriculture & Society Program, Macalester College 
  • Ricardo Padrón, Professor of Spanish, University of Virginia 
  • Nina Pavcnik, Niehaus Family Professor in International Studies and Professor of Economics, Dartmouth College 
  • Ganesh Sitaraman, New York Alumni Chancellor’s Chair in Law, Vanderbilt Law School
  • Michael Thaddeus, Professor of Mathematics, Columbia University 
  • Charlene Villaseñor Black, Professor of Art History and Chicana/o Studies, University of California, Los Angeles 
  • Wendy Wall, Avalon Professor of the Humanities, Charles Deering McCormick Professor of Teaching Excellence, and Professor of English, Northwestern University 
Learn More

About The Phi Beta Kappa Society

Founded on Dec. 5, 1776, The Phi Beta Kappa Society is the nation's most prestigious academic honor society. It has chapters at 290 colleges and universities in the United States, nearly 50 alumni associations, and more than half a million members worldwide. Noteworthy members include 17 U.S. Presidents, 42 U.S. Supreme Court Justices and more than 150 Nobel Laureates. The mission of The Phi Beta Kappa Society is to champion education in the liberal arts and sciences, foster freedom of thought, and recognize academic excellence. For more information, visit