For immediate release February 15, 2023

2023-2024 Phi Beta Kappa Visiting Scholars Announced

The Phi Beta Kappa Society is pleased to announce the appointment of 14 Visiting Scholars for 2023-2024.

Since 1956, the Phi Beta Kappa Society’s Visiting Scholar Program has offered undergraduates the opportunity to spend time with some of America’s most distinguished scholars. The purpose of the program is to contribute to the intellectual life of the institution by making possible an exchange of ideas between the Visiting Scholars and the resident faculty and students.
Each year, members of the Committee on the Visiting Scholar Program select top scholars in the liberal arts and sciences to visit universities and colleges where Phi Beta Kappa chapters are located. Visiting Scholars spend two days on each campus meeting informally with undergraduates, participating in classroom lectures and seminars, and giving one major lecture open to the academic community and general public.
The 2023-2024 Visiting Scholars will make over 100 visits during the academic year, with the majority of them participating in our podcast Key Conversations with Phi Beta Kappa.


2023-2024 Visiting Scholars:

  • Kenneth T. Andrews, Carl W. Ernst Distinguished Professor of Sociology, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill 
  • Anna Brickhouse, Linden Kent Memorial Professor of English, University of Virginia 
  • Julia Bryan-Wilson, Professor of Art History, Columbia University
  • Julia Clarke, John A. Wilson Professor in Vertebrate Paleontology, University of Texas at Austin
  • Cathleen Kaveny, Darald and Juliet Libby Professor, Boston College Law
  • Trevon D. Logan, Hazel C. Youngberg Trustees Distinguished Professor of Economics, The Ohio State University
  • Suzanne Marchand, LSU Systems Boyd (University) Professor of European Intellectual History, Louisiana State University 
  • Natalia Molina, Distinguished Professor in the Department of American Studies and Ethnicity, University of Southern California
  • Cynthia F. Moss, Professor of Psychological and Brain Sciences, Johns Hopkins University
  • Russell Muirhead, Professor of Government, Dartmouth College 
  • Shawkat M. Toorawa, Professor of Arabic Literature and Comparative Literature, Yale University 
  • Corey D. B. Walker, Wake Forest Professor of the Humanities, Wake Forest University
  • Talitha Washington, Professor of Mathematics, Clark Atlanta University 
  • Emily T. Yeh, Professor of Geography, University of Colorado Boulder
Learn More

About The Phi Beta Kappa Society

Founded on Dec. 5, 1776, The Phi Beta Kappa Society is the nation's most prestigious academic honor society. It has chapters at 293 colleges and universities in the United States, nearly 50 alumni associations, and more than half a million members worldwide. Noteworthy members include 17 U.S. Presidents, 42 U.S. Supreme Court Justices and more than 150 Nobel Laureates. The mission of The Phi Beta Kappa Society is to champion education in the liberal arts and sciences, foster freedom of thought, and recognize academic excellence. For more information, visit